Last week: Hawaii

Breakfasts

Greek yogurt with berries and granola. Coffee with whole milk.
Lavash, spinach, eggs. Coffee with whole milk.
Lavash, spinach, eggs. Coffee with whole milk.
Baguette, avocado, spinach, eggs. Coffee with whole milk.
Baguette, avocado, spinach, eggs. Coffee with whole milk.
Berries, Greek yogurt, granola. Coffee with milk.
Last breakfast in Hawaii. Berries, Greek yogurt, granola. Coffee with cream.

I’ve been eating breakfast on the balcony and it tastes so much better when you eat it outside. I might have to make this a habit when I get back home, although the weather and view are both infinitely nicer here.

Breakfast at my parent’s house. Toast, butter, blueberry jam, and coffee. The jam was a gift from one of my mom’s friends. It’s from France and is so good!

Lunches

Greek salad with hummus and parsnip soup. We split an almond bar, locally made coffee gelato, and passionfruit cheesecake for desert. The soup and salad were both fresh and flavorful and the desert was unreal.

This was from Kahumana Farms, an organic farm and cafe on the West Coast of Oahu. The food was incredible and the farm was unbelievably beautiful. It felt great to support an local organization whose cause I believed in, instead of spending $90 a person to go to the “luau” at our resort.

Sandwich with avocado, vegenaise, sprouts, onions, and tomato. Mango smoothie.
Sandwich with avocado, vegenaise, sprouts, onions, and tomato. Mango smoothie.

Split this one with my momma. We picked it up from Down to Earth, an awesome natural foods store. I think they put an entire avocado on the sandwich. The avocados here are incredible – they are so big and round and buttery and I think I could eat one every day for the rest of my life and be happy.

Smoothie with spinach, frozen banana, fresh pineapple, Greek yogurt, almond milk.
Smoothie with spinach, frozen banana, fresh pineapple, Greek yogurt, almond milk.
Vegetarian ruben. Fake salami, swiss cheese, sauerkraut, pickles, tomatoes, and vegenaise.
Vegetarian Reuben. Fake salami, swiss cheese, sauerkraut, pickles, tomatoes, and vegenaise.

Eaten in the airport right after we missed the check-in time for our flight by 3 minutes. That was fun. Thankfully, there was another flight that was close enough to home to work out.

The sandwich was from Down to Earth again. I’ve been craving a Reuben even since trying the Mighty Mofo from Chaco Canyon in Seattle – I would visit Seattle again just to get another one of those sandwiches. This one didn’t quite live up to the Mighty Mofo but was still good nonetheless.

Crackers and cheese.
Crackers and cheese.

Coming home to an empty fridge is one of the downsides to vacation. These crackers, however, are incredible. I could eat the whole box.

Dinners

These Taro burgers were interesting. I’m pretty picky about my veggie burgers so I probably wouldn’t buy them again but it was fun to try something new. The salad had greens, carrots, and Annie’s goddess dressing.

Salad, ravioli, sweet potatoes.
Salad, ravioli, sweet potatoes.

We picked up some produce from a local farmers market. The salad had greens, tomatoes, cucumber, and Annie’s goddess dressing. The purple things are sweet potatoes, and they are so good. They’re not as sweet as normal sweet potatoes and taste a little bit like chestnuts. Definitely went back for more after this – I can’t stop snacking on them.

Kale salad
Salad with kale, mandarin oranges, shallots, walnuts, golden raisins, ginger miso dressing.

For our last night, we went to a restaurant called Monkey Pod. I got the kale salad and we also split fries and the best chocolate cream pie.

20140330-151710.jpg
Empty seaweed and corn salad.

Plane food. Eaten with a piece of baguette and part of my sister’s poppyseed muffin.

Lettuce, carrots, fennel, broccoli, tempeh, pickles, and Wigg's dressing. Cheese toast.
Lettuce, carrots, fennel, broccoli, mushrooms, tempeh, pickles, and Wiggs’s dressing. Cheese toast.

Dinner with my roommate. You can tell our kitchen is a mishmash of free things that we managed to scrounge up when we left home – the rose china and floral placemats are an interesting mix.

So there is one week! It was harder than I thought to photograph all my meals, and there were definitely times I felt obnoxious pulling my phone out. It did help keep the snacking in check though. I definitely still snacked between meals but it never got to the point where it replaced the meals, which was the goal.

 

Leave a Reply

