Pearl Harbor

USS Arizona Memorial
USS Arizona Memorial

One of my favorite parts of our vacation was a visit to Pearl Harbor. We did the free tour of the USS Arizona Memorial, which included a 20 minute video on the history of the Pearl Harbor attack and a boat ride out to the memorial, which is build over the remains of the ship.

The memorial was stunning and the trip was a heartbreaking reminder of the lives lost in warfare. Although I have friends who served in the military or are part of college ROTC programs, as a college student I am largely sheltered from the brutal effects of war.

It’s shocking to think that many of the boys who died on that ship must have been around my age.

20140328-211130.jpg
Part of the USS Arizona

The memorial, especially the video, also made me realize that I’ve stopped learning about many subjects as my education has become more specialized. I love that I get to focus on a subject I care about, but there is so much more about the world that I would like to learn.

I’ve been making an effort to read more for pleasure. It’s something I used to spend hours doing as a child but the amount of reading I’ve had to do in school has dampened my love of reading. I would like to try to include more nonfiction books about subjects I care about, like history.

In the past, it’s felt so difficult to force myself to learn for fun after a rough day at school but I want to make a stronger effort to keep on learning outside of school and make sure my education is a well rounded one .

20140328-211119.jpg
Inside the memorial

 

Leave a Reply

