Quick and easy veggie burgers

IMG_1393

I’ve been a vegetarian for about 14 years now. Over the years, I’ve had a lot of veggie burgers, and I mean a lot. Some have been great, while others were frankly awful.

In college, I started making my own instead of buying them from the store. Store bought veggie burgers tend to be one of two types: fake meat veggie burgers that are full of scary sounding ingredients and taste like rubber or hippie whole food veggie burgers that cost far more than I’m willing to pay for something that I could make myself.

I usually eat veggie burgers as part of a sandwich, rice bowl, or salad. They’re a great way to add some protein and flavor to a meal. They also freeze and reheat well (just make sure to shape them and freeze them flat first).

The following recipe is adapted from A Girl Called Jack, who writes great budget friendly recipes. I love that her recipe uses foods that I generally have on hand, making it super easy to whip up at a moments notice. I almost skipped the step where she boils the beans but I’m so glad I didn’t because it is brilliant. Canned beans tend to be a little tough, boiling them makes them soft and easy to mash into the perfect veggie burger.

I’ve made her recipe a little fussier because I happened to have the extra ingredients on hand but if you want an even simpler version, I highly encourage you to give the original a try.

Kidney Bean Burgers

Adapted from A Girl Called Jack

Time: 30 minutes (20 minutes to make the burgers and 10 to cook them)

Yield: 5 burgers

Ingredients:

  • 1 tsp olive oil
  • 1 can kidney beans
  • 1 carrot, grated
  • ½ onion, chopped
  • 1 teaspoon cumin
  • ½ teaspoon paprika
  • pepper, to taste
  • ¼ cup cooked brown rice
  • 2 Tablespoons flax seed
  • olive oil for frying

Instructions:

  1. Drain and rinse the kidney beans. Place them in a small pot and cover with water. Bring to a boil then reduce the heat and simmer for 10 minutes.
  2. Heat the oil over medium heat. Add carrot, onion, and spices. Saute until tender, about 6 minutes.
  3. Drain the beans and dump them into a bowl. Roughly mash the beans with a fork.
  4. Add in cooked veggies, brown rice, and flax seed. Mix together.
  5. Heat oil in a frying pan over medium heat.
  6. Shape patties. You can make them as small or large as you like – I usually go for around 1/4 to 1/3 cup.
  7. Fry until cooked, about 5 minutes per side.
Leave a Reply

