New favorite kale salad

20140608-094959-35399542.jpg

I’ve made variations of this salad four times in the last week. It’s filling enough to tide me over through finals studying and full of veggies, protein, and fat. I’m in love.

The salad pictured above has:

  • kale
  • fennel
  • tempeh
  • strawberries
  • broccoli
  • goat cheese
  • avocado

Garbanzos instead of tempeh, peaches instead of strawberries, and heart of palm instead of fennel would also be great here.

I made simplified version of this dressing, which is one of my favorites to use with kale. I like the way the bright, acidic dressing tempers the bitterness of the kale. I tend to dress my kale salads a little more heavily than normal; the leaves can be a bit tough and can use the extra dressing.

Instead of getting my blender dirty, I eyeballed it and tossed this together in a jar. I used:

  • olive oil
  • apple cider vinegar
  • dijon mustard
  • salt
  • pepper

I love finding new salads for summer. When it gets hot (like the 106° weather we had yesterday), the last thing I want to do is turn on the oven and there is so much beautiful produce in the markets. This is definitely one salad I’ll be coming back to throughout this summer.

 

Leave a Reply

