Restless

IMG_2445

“I’m restless. Things are calling me away. My hair is being pulled by the stars again.”

–Anaïs Nin

Lately, it feels like I’m about to burst out of my skin. It’s been a rough summer and I have so much pent up stress about school and my future. At the same time, I’m so burned out. I’ll sit in front of my textbook and stare at the pages as the words blur together while simultaneously becoming more and more anxious about how much I have to do.

I want an escape. I feel like I need to move and relax at the same time. It’s an odd mix, and I think I just need to get out. I’m craving an adventure and the quote above keeps playing in my head.

I’m dreaming of Spanish beaches and Colorado mountaintops. I want to see the stars from the desert and taste salt water. I miss the feel of sun on my bare skin and sand beneath my toes and the wonderful way your body aches when you’ve spent the whole day exploring.

I know I need to push through for just a little longer but it’s hard when I’m going this stir crazy. I keep reminding myself that this is temporary, the end is in sight, and this is what I need to do to get where I want to go. I know how lucky I am for all the opportunities I have and I am so incredibly grateful. This is just one of those times when it’s a little harder to stay positive.

Leave a Reply

