Curry night

IMG_3835While admittedly not the same as our favorite Indian takeout, this recipe for channa masala is easy and tasty. I have a feeling the difference is partly due to the amount of butter involved and while I will always love the real deal, it’s nice to have a healthier option as well. We served it with brown rice and creamed spinach, in the spirit of palak paneer.

The spinach was a surprise hit, especially given how simple it was to make. I was a little intimidated by the thought of making a béchamel sauce, and was terrified that I was going to burn the roux, but thankfully, it ended up being far easier than I expected. The way the sauce thickens when you add milk is like a little bit of kitchen magic. I didn’t measure anything but I think it merits bare bones instructions, if not an actual recipe – I’m certainly planning on making this again.

  • Steam a bunch of spinach and roughly chop it
  • Make a roux (more on that here) and add cream, milk, nutmeg, salt, and pepper
  • Add spinach to sauce and heat to combine
Leave a Reply

